17 battle it out in the House of Power

houseofpower swan

Lilley forum: Labor MP Wayne Swan v LNP candidate Rod McGarvie.
House of Power – federal election forums at the Brisbane Powerhouse on August 22, 2013. Photo: Renee Melides.

Fairfax Media’s the brisbanetimes.com.au, in conjunction with 4BC Radio and Channel Nine, hosted an election event at Brisbane’s Powerhouse which saw 17 candidates for Queensland’s key south-east seats take part in seven separate forums.

More than 1000 people filled the audience for the event, dubbed The House of Power

Brisbanetimes.com.au managing editor Simon Holt said the forum went extremely well for one of its size and complexity. “The event had a really community feel about it, there was charity on the door and the venue being so different really gave it a great feel,” he said.

Throughout the event on the brisbanetimes.com.au there was a live blog running through out each of the seven forums.

The forums were mainly broken up into seats allowing audience members to get a fair representation of what each candidate would offer each individual electorate.

The forums were:

Seat of Brisbane – Teresa Gambaro (LNP) v Fiona McNamara (ALP) v Rachael Jacobs (Greens); Lilley – Wayne Swan (ALP) v Rod McGarvie (LNP); Griffith – Senator Claire Moore (ALP, representing Kevin Rudd) v Bill Glasson (LNP); Oxley – Bernie Ripoll (ALP) v Andrew Nguyen (LNP); Rankin – David Lin (LNP) v Jim Chalmers (ALP); Moreton – Graham Perrett (ALP) v Malcolm Cole; and the Senate – the Greens (Larissa Waters) v Katter’s Australian Party (Bob Katter) v Family First (Aidan McLindon).

Mr Holt said the scale of the event made it unique “There are plenty of one-off forums held across the country for varying electorates. This, to my knowledge, is the first time someone has attempted something of this scale – 17 candidates in seven debates in three theatres in one night.”

Leave a comment