2013 Newspaper of the Year Awards winners announced

The 2013 Pacific Area Newspaper Publishers’ Association tonight announced the winners of its 2013 Newspaper of the Year awards.

More than 1,000 entries were received for the awards this year, making the PANPA Newspaper of the Year awards one of the biggest newspaper competitions of its type in the world.

More than 40 judges selected the winners from across the Newspaper of the Year, Digital News Destination of the Year, Marketing and Technical Excellence, and Photography categories.

Newspaper of the Year was awarded to The Age, while the editor of The Land, Sally White, won the prestigious Hegarty Prize.

The Newspaper Works CEO Mark Hollands said there had been a very strong response from mastheads around the region with a highly competitive field of entries.

“The overall standard of entries was extremely high and it was great to see our industry participate in the competition so enthusiastically,” Mr Hollands said.

“Big and small, news organisations have again taken part in these awards in big numbers.”

“The awards are a chance for the newspaper industry to celebrate our great work in the face of adversity, given the difficult economic climate and period of transition we currently operate in.

“There’s never been a more important time for the newspaper industry to focus not only on the challenges we all face, but also on the great work we do, and our contribution to society, our readers and commercial partners and clients,” he said.

Mr Hollands also thanked the Newspaper of the Year sponsors, Norske Skog.

“We’re extremely grateful to Norske Skog for their continued support of the industry and we value and appreciate it enormously,” he said.

The winners were announced at a gala dinner tonight at the Four Seasons Hotel in Sydney, the closing event of the 2013 Future Forum, a conference designed to help newspapers discover new strategies to win audiences and increase revenue by hearing from some of the world’s leading publishers.

Click here to view the list of winners.

Leave a comment