Excellence in newspaper media’s creative, sales and marketing teams from across Australia, New Zealand, the South Pacific and Southeast Asia has been recognised at the 2015 PANPA Advertising & Marketing Awards event held at the Zeta Bar in Sydney’s Hilton Hotel tonight.

Presented by The Newspaper Works annually in conjunction with the Future Forum, the PANPA Advertising & Marketing Awards attracted a record 450 entries this year.

The Advertising categories laud publishers’ in-house work, while both agency and in-house executions were eligible for the Marketing categories.

A mix of panels and independent judges oversaw this year’s awards. No category had fewer than three judges and overall almost 90 judges volunteered their time.

“The calibre of submissions was particularly high this year,” said The Newspaper Works chief executive Mark Hollands. “The finalists and winners showcase the creative, compelling and effective ways in which newspaper media promote their essential contribution to readers’ lives, and to advertiser and media agency strategies.”

The 2015 PANPA Advertising & Marketing Awards were sponsored by Oceanic Paper.

View the 2015 Advertising & Marketing Awards presentation here.

The full list of 2015 PANPA Advertising & Marketing Awards winners:


Best Print Single Advertisement for a Client

Blayney Chronicle – De-Sex Your Dog, He’ll Be Less Nuts

The Gisborne Herald – Dirty Weekend

National / Metropolitan
The Daily Telegraph – Les Miserables Wrap

Best Print Campaign for a Client

Manning River Times – The Shed Company

The Gisborne Herald – Larsen Sawmilling

National / Metropolitan
Otago Daily Times – McDonald’s

Best Feature / Supplement / Native Advertising Environment

Riverine Herald – Echuca Moama magazine

The Advocate, Burnie – Ignite

National / Metropolitan
Herald Sun – The Great War Magazine Series

Best Print Idea or Innovation Presented to a Client or Agency (OPEN)

Mercury/Sunday Tasmanian/themercury.com.au – Festival of Voices

Best Integrated Campaign for a Client (OPEN)

Mercury/Sunday Tasmanian/themercury.com.au – Licence to Thrill, Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra


Best Copywriting (OPEN)

The Weekend Australian Magazine – A Life Well Travelled, by Clare Catt


Best Single Advertisement for a Client

Chinchilla News – Chinchilla Melon Festival

News.com.au – Evil Within

Best Digital Campaign for a Client

APN Australian Regional Media – Lion XXXX

Fairfax Media – Myer Giftorium

Best Digital Idea or Innovation (OPEN)

Fairfax Media – ANZ GayTM Creator

Best Microsite / Native Advertising

APN Australian Regional Media – BCF “Easter Migration” Campaign

couriermail.com.au – QUT 25 Years of Innovation – Native Partnership


Trade Campaign of the Year

The Courier, Narrabri – Keep it Bright, Keep it Local

The Gisborne Herald – When you’ve got something to say

National / Metropolitan
News Corp Australia – News Xtend Digital Masterclass

Consumer Campaign of the Year

NewsLocal – Great War & Me

APN Australian Regional Media – Dinosaur Collection

National / Metropolitan
The Australian – 50th anniversary

Best Cause-Related or Community Service Campaign

Kalgoorlie Miner – Community Support Through Tough Times!

Geelong Advertiser – Adopt a Family Appeal

National / Metropolitan
The West Australian – ANZAC Centenary

Sponsorship of the Year

Community Newspaper Group – Telethon Kids Appeal

Newcastle Herald – Surfest

National / Metropolitan
stuff.co.nz – Art in the Dark Sponsorship

Best Young Reader Program (OPEN)

The Straits Times – A Year In The News


Team Collaboration / Team Player of the Year

Courtney Greisbach – The Advocate, Burnie

Creative Services Team of the Year

Fairfax Trade Marketing Design Studio – Fairfax Media

Sales Person of the Year

Lauren Butler – Fairfax Media

Sales Team of the Year

The Australian

Individual Designer / Creative Services Professional of the Year

Justine Black – NZME.

Sales Manager of the Year

Nancy Veart – APN Australian Regional Media

Marketing Team of the Year

National Retail Marketing Team – News Corp Australia

Marketer of the Year

Alice Bradbury – The Australian

The judges for the 2015 awards:

Kellie Northwood, Emelio Robles, Daniel Littlepage, Peter Cornelius, Sam North, Darren Burden, Stu Cameron, Miguel D’Souza, Nate Cochrane, Ed Efchak, David Murphy, Mark Challinor, Karyn Krawford, Foad Fadaghi, David Hovenden,  Jon Reid, Susan Bredow, Simon Sharwood, Damien Munday, Helena Daley, Rochelle Burbury, Eva Rinaldi, Valerie Arnould, Doug Wills, Tim Burrowes, William Cain, Grant Booker, Mark Dadswell, David Leeson, Jeff Darmanin, Andrew Tyndall, Cheryl Senter, Ross Duncan, Andy Moger, Paul Burston, Craig Sillitoe, Leith Phillips, Marina Go, Bruce Davidson, Peter Horgan, John Croll, Rick Neville, Kylie Davis, Chris Pash, Hugh Martin, Philip Clark,  Leith Phillips, Lianne Richards, Mal Dale, Gai Le Roi, Helena Daley, Garth Agius, Paul Carroll, Andrew Sinclair, Peter Cornelius, Michele McCamley, Paddy Douneen, David Hoath, Samantha Amjadali, Glen Wiggs, Andy Moger, John Koay, Mark Jones, Adrianne Nixon, Paul Dovas, Laurie Geddes, Sylvianne Heim, Danny Massa, Paul Coles, Mark Sharman, Penny Dixon, Allison Whitelaw, Simon Wake, Denise Shrivell, Jane Schulze, Gillian Paton, Jane Nicholls, Peter Miller, Mark Kennedy, Brian Hill, Dean Gould, Charlton D’Silva, Heather Craven, Ray Black.

Leave a comment