Australian Cannes Young Lions finalists announced

The finalists in the 2014 Australian Cannes Young Lions have been announced, with one more brief the final hurdle before 10 young creatives are chosen to head to the international competition in Cannes.

A panel of judges including Foxtel’s Justin Robinson, Telstra’s Sean Hall, Qantas’ Jo Boundy and AJF Partnership’s Adam Rose selected 61 finalists in marketing, media, print, digital and video to go through to the next round.

This stage will see the finalists complete a 24-hour brief (48 hours for video), following the Cannes competition format.

The Australian leg of the competition is supported by News Corp Australia.

“We are excited to continue our role of helping uncover incredible young creative talent to represent Australia,” News Corp Australia’s group director – sales, Fiorella Di Santo, said.

“This year marks the sixth chapter of Australian Cannes Young Lions competition, which continues to grow and is highly regarded within the industry, providing amazing opportunities for young aspiring creative, media and marketing professionals.”

The second round kicks off on Monday, May 19, and winners will be announced on Thursday, May 29.

Winning teams will receive return flights to Nice in France, accommodation and a Young Lions registration to the Cannes Festival with access to seminars, awards ceremonies, showcases and the Young Lions party.

The 2014 Cannes Young Lion Finalists are:


Mietta McFarlane and Luke Chard                                 Droga5

Jack Nunn and Charlie Gearside                                      M&C Saatchi

Melissa Baillache and David Brown                                Reactive

Kae Yen Wong and Paolo Sta. Barbara                          Host Sydney / Drifter

Louise McQuat and Tim Collier                                         VML

Adam Stone and Long Truong                                          We Are Social / Freelance

Lucas Black-Dendle and Raz Djamaluddin                    Whybin\TBWA

Laura Petruccelli and Rohan Cooke                                Grey

Henry Billington and Paul Michael Donnelly               The Brand Agency


Michael Birchall and Mark Starmach                              Freelance/Circulate

Edward Macaulay and Alex Schieder                             Leo Burnett Sydney

Curt McDonald and Casey Schweikert                          Leo Burnett / Banjo

Giles Clayton and Simon Hayes                                        Clemenger BBDO

Peter Defries and Alan Wilson                                         Disciple

James Gillespie and Julia Dixon                                        Oddfellows

Jack Nunn and Charlie Geraside                                      M&C Saatchi

Carl Robertson and Tristan Viney                                    GPYR


Media – ACT                                                                            

Luke Wesney                                                                          UM

Media – NSW

Max Broer                                                                                Initiative

Amy Lester                                                                               Ikon Communications

Elyse Foley                                                                               Ikon

Natalie Pidding                                                                       Carat

Jack Bellamy                                                                            UM

Chanel Cummings                                                                 Carat Sydney

Jason Maggs                                                                            Mindshare

John Dawson                                                                           Mindshare

Media – QLD

Lauren Kenny                                                                          Zenithoptimedia Brisbane

Nelson Demartini                                                                  UM

James Diamond                                                                      Carat Brisbane

Hannah MacAuslane                                                            UM

Media – SA

Callum Wells                                                                            MEC

Media – VIC

Camilla Wallace                                                                        OMD

Jeremy Gavin                                                                           OMD Melbourne

Amy Denyer                                                                             Maxus

Tim Farmer                                                                                Carat

Jennifer Carroll                                                                        Mindshare

Elizabeth Calwell                                                                     Mindshare

Media – WA

Kylie Macey                                                                              Adcorp

Emma Williamson                                                                   Initiative


Edward Macaulay and Alex Schieder                              Leo Burnett Sydney

Casey Schweikert and Curtis McDonald                         Banjo Advertising / Leo Burnett

Daniel Davison and Ashley Wilding                                  Banjo Advertising

Sam Grant and Fee Millist                                                  Belgiovane Williams Mackay

Chloe Banicevic and Archana Murugaser                      Arnold Furnace

Sal Cavallaro and Dave Biddle                                            303Lowe Sydney

Blake Arthur and Matt Enis                                                 Ogilvy & Mather

Cat Williams and Charli Hoffmann                                    Momentum Worldwide

Carl Robertson and Tristan Viney                                     GPYR

Edward Negus and Sash Kitulgoda                                  Big Red

Cam McMillan and Adam Slater                                        BWM Melbourne

Millicent Malcolm and Zenon Predecki                          JWT Melbourne

Tim Newton and Wilora Keeley                                        JWT

Young Marketer

Meredith Jones                                                                       Luxottica

Laura Jenkins                                                                            Foxtel

Pippa Kulmar                                                                            Retail Oasis

Marty Peat                                                                                Virgin Mobile

For more news from The Newspaper Works, click here.

Leave a comment