Code of Practice for Sports News Reporting

Code of Practice for Sports News Reporting

In March of 2010, news publishers and agencies joined with the administrations of major domestic sport to sign the Code of Practice for Sports News Reporting. This code was created through negotiation and overseen by the Australian Government and the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC). Its purpose is to outline the conditions under which media accreditation and access to sports fixtures and events should be made for news publishers.

The founding members – Sport: Australian Football League, Australian Rugby Football Union, National Rugby League, Cricket Australia, Tennis Australia. Publishers: Australian Associated Press, Agence France-Presse, Fairfax Media, Getty Images, News Corp Australia.

The chair of the Code is Mr Kevan Gosper (AO), of the International Olympic Committee. The Secretary is Mark Hollands, chief executive of The Newspaper Works.


Leave a comment