Herald Sun, The Age share honours in Quill awards

Herald Sun, The Age share honours in Quill awards

Journalists from the Herald Sun took out the major award for news reporting at the Melbourne Press Club Quill awards las week, while The Age excelled in sporting categories.

The annual awards honour excellence in Victorian metropolitan and regional journalism across 32 categories.

The Age’s Caroline Wilson was named the Harry Gordon Australian Sports Journalist of the Year, one of the major Quill awards. The judges said “her work over a long period has been ground-breaking and at times crusading … She quickly developed a reputation as tough, fair, and never willing to take a backward step”.

Michael Gleeson, of The Age, took out the Quill for Sports News while Emma Quayle won the Sports Feature award.

The Herald Sun’s Tom Minear and James Campbell won the Quill for News Reporting in Writing for an exclusive story on Victorian minister Steve Herbert who used a taxpayer-funded limousine to transport his dogs, Patch and Ted, around Victoria. The disclosure led to the minister’s resignation.

Brianna Travers, also from the Herald Sun, won the award for Breaking News Coverage with on-the-spot coverage of last year’s Moomba riots. The masthead’s staff photographers won all three photography categories, including the News Photography Quill for Jake Nowakowski’s image of a police officer using pepper-spray on Moomba rioters.

The Age’s first podcast ‘Phoebe’s Fall’, produced in the newsroom by Richard Baker and Michael Bachelard, won the award for Radio Current Affairs.

The Lifetime Achievement Award 2016 went to Niki Savva for her contribution to Australian political reporting. During her career, Savva has twice worked for The Australian as a political correspondent and was national political editor for the Herald Sun and bureau chief for The Age. She is currently a columnist at The Australian.

The Golden Quill for 2016 was awarded to Louise Milligan and Andy Burns for their reporting on sexual abuse in the Catholic Church and the repercussions for Cardinal George Pell, on the ABC’s 7.30 program.

Below is the full list of award recipients.

2016 Young Journalist of the Year – Bridget Judd of ABC Warrnambool

News Reporting in Writing – Tom Minear & James Campbell of the Herald Sun for ‘Ministries Dog Act’

Feature Writing – Margaret Simons of The Monthly for “Duterte’s Dirty War”

Business News – Adele Ferguson, Klaus Toft and Mario Christodoulou of The Age and ABC Four Corners for ‘Comminsure Scandal‘.

Business Feature – Ben Butler, of The Weekend Australian, for ‘Keeping up with the Oswals’.

Keith Dunstan Quill for Commentary – Tim Colebatch of Inside Story Magazine, has won the 2016 Keith Dunstan Quill for Commentary for a portfolio of three columns, ‘The upside of the falling big party vote’, ‘Fear puts One Nation back where it counts?’, and ‘In search of the sensible centre’.

Breaking News Coverage – Brianna Travers of the Sunday Herald Sun for ‘Battle zone – the Moomba riots’.

RACV Transport Quill – Matthew Johnston and Alex White of the Herald Sun, for ‘Sky rail’.

Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the YearCaro Meldrum-Hanna of the ABC for her reporting on Don Dale Youth Detention Centre.

Lifetime Achievement Award 2016 – Niki Savva

Victorian Government Quill for Reporting on Disability Issues – Beau Donelly of The Sunday Age for ‘Anthony’s Decision to Die’

Sports News – Michael Gleeson of theage.com.au for Lachie Whitfield Drugs Affair.

Sports Feature – Emma Quayle of The Age for ‘Anthony McDonald-Tipungwuti’s long journey to overnight success’.

Suburban or Regional Journalism – Melissa Cunningham of The Courier (Ballarat) for ‘Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse: A path of hope to Rome’.

Cartoon – Mark Knight won for ‘Hair Force One’ published in the Herald Sun.

Artwork – Andrew Dyson of The Age for his piece ‘Elbow Room’.

Coverage of an Issue or Event – Louise Milligan and Andy Burns, of ABC 7.30 for their report ‘George Pell and Sexual Abuse in the Catholic Church’.

TV Video News – Brendan Donohoe of Seven News for ‘Euthanasia Cabinet Leak’.

TV Video Feature (Long Form) – Adele Ferguson, Klaus Toft and Mario Christodoulou from ABC Four Corners and The Age for reporting the Comminsure scandal.

TV Video Feature (Short Form) – Nick McKenzie and Gus Goswell of ABC 7.30 for report exposing foreign bribery allegations.

The TAC Towards Zero Road Safety Quill – Seamus Bradley, Meredith O’Shea, Nick Place and Miguel Rios from RACV Royal Auto Magazine for ‘Impact – Victoria’s Hidden Road Toll’.

Harry Gordon Australian Sports Journalist of the Year – Caroline Wilson of The Age

Radio News – Seb Costello of Triple M for ‘Usain Bolt Wins Gold’.

Radio Current Affairs – Richard Baker and Michael Bachelard of The Age for the podcast ‘Phoebe’s Fall’.

Innovation in Journalism – Soren Frederiksen, Conal Hanna & Craig Dixon of Fairfax Media for Real Footy On Messenger.

2016 Student Journalist of the Year Tess Ikonomou of Monash University

Grant Hattam Quill for Investigative Journalism – Ben Schneiders, Royce Millar & Nick Toscano of The Age for a series highlighting employer pay abuse

Camera Work – John Parsons of Nine News for ‘Westgate Bridge Police Chase’.

News Photograph – Jake Nowakowski of the Sunday Herald Sun for his image of the Moomba riot

Sports Photograph – Alex Coppel of the Herald Sun for his photo of Fernando Alonso’s crash at Turn Three of the Grand Prix.

Features Photograph – Jason Edwards of the Herald Sun for ‘Beautiful Balance’.

Gold Quill – Louise Milligan and Andy Burns of ABC 7.30 for their reporting on George Pell and sexual abuse in the Catholic Church.

Leave a comment