Home » News » Finalists announced for the 2018 News Media Awards

Finalists announced for the 2018 News Media Awards

Stuff NZ titles have been named contenders for two of the News Media Awards top trophies – Daily News Brand of the Year and Weekend News Brand of the Year – alongside News Corp Australia’s The Australian and Fairfax Media’s Australian Financial Review, in this year’s finalist announcement.

Your next read

The New Zealand news arm of Fairfax Media has been able to enter the top award categories for the first time following a rebrand of the awards from newspaper to news brand. While Stuff has several mastheads around the country, most resources are directed towards its digital assets, which has made the brand New Zealand’s top news website.

Fairfax’s The Age and The Australian Financial Review and their associated weekend titles are also up for both News Brand awards, competing against News Corp’s The Australian.

Community News Group’s Stirling Times is up against several Fairfax and News Corp titles including The Maitland Mercury andManly Daily for Community News Brand of the Year, while The Fiji Times, Newcastle Herald and NT News compete for Regional News Brand of the Year.

The winner of the News Brand of the Year will be selected from the pool of winners in the News Brand categories and announced on the night.

Click here to see the full list of finalists.

The new News Story of the Year Award has highlighted some of Australia and New Zealand’s best journalism from the past 12 months. Nominations include The Sydney Morning Herald’s Kate McClymont’s #MeToo expose detailing allegations against media personality Don Burke, Stuff Circuit’s investigation into New Zealand’s involvement in the Afghanistan War and NZME’s series on youth suicide.

News Corp Australia’s We’re for You brand campaign is up against Fairfax’s Always execution for Best Consumer Brand Campaign.

The six finalists for the prestigious Hegarty Scholarship for Best young Executive (Under 35) are News Corp’s Holly Yates, Lauren Moloney, Robert Tidball and Nadja Fleet; Fairfax’s Jordan Philp; and McPherson Media Group’s Tyla Harrington.

Editor-in-chief of The Fiji Times Fred Wesley and Community News Group’s Insights and Strategy Director Guy Turner will battle it out for the new News Media Executive of the Year Award.

The News Media Awards are the latest iteration of the PANPA Newspaper of the Year Awards, modernising the event to better align the categories with the changing nature of the industry.

The winners will be named at a gala dinner at the Hilton, Sydney, on Friday, September 14. Buy tickets here.

Related downloads
Filed Under: News

Reader Interactions