Home » News » Nadja Fleet named as the recipient of Hegarty Award 2019

Nadja Fleet named as the recipient of Hegarty Award 2019

Nadja Fleet, the Editor-in-Chief of Messenger Newspapers has been named as the recipient of the prestigious Hegarty Award at the 2019 News Media Awards.

The Hegarty Scholarship was established in 1987 in honour of Patrick Hegarty, a former Executive Director of the Pacific Area Newspaper Publishers’ Association (PANPA). Following his untimely death aged in his early 40s, the Scholarship was established to help nurture the next generation of media game-changers.

Worth $10,000 in travel entitlements, the award may be used for international work experience and or study.

Nadja Fleet commenced at News Corp as a cadet 12 years ago with the Northern Territory News, progressing to become the Police and Defence reporter. She was recognised as the Northern Territory Young Journalist of the Year at this time.

Fleet has since risen to her current role leading 18 staff across seven Messenger titles and has displayed creativity, innovation, leadership, vision and adeptness for transformation.

Nominations for the Hegarty Award were invited from across all the editorial and commercial disciplines in the business of news media who must be under 35 years of age and there were six finalists for the Hegarty Award.

“Nadja demonstrated that she is passionate, driven, successful and forward thinking and is a worthy winner of this years Hegarty Scholarship. This year’s finalists really tested the judges, who nevertheless agreed on this year’s winner of the Hegarty Scholarship,” the judges commented.

The Hegarty Award was presented as part of the 2019 News Media Awards last night in Sydney.

The full 2019 News Media Awards winners list can be found here:  https://newsmediaworks.com.au/winners-from-the-2019-news-media-awards/

Commenting on the winners, NewsMediaWorks CEO, Peter Miller, said: “I offer my sincerecongratulations to all the winners in this year’s News Media Awards. Once again the calibre of entries and the significant commitment to innovation and editorial excellence demonstrated by our publishers has impressed the judging panel and made selecting winners a challenging process.

“The News Media Awards recognise excellence in the people, the products, the purpose and performance of news media brands today. Excellence that is a key driver of trust in our brands.”

The 2019 News Media Awards gala dinner was held last night at the conclusion of the annual INFORM 19 News Media Summit.  More than 350 people attended the awards ceremony at the Ivy Ballroom in Sydney, again hosted by The Chaser’s Craig Reucassel and Andrew Hansen.

News media publishers from Australia, New Zealand and the Asia Pacific submitted more than 500 entries for the seven categories in the 2019 awards. The awards recognise excellence in cross platform news publishing, reflected in categories covering Advertising, Marketing, Technical, Product Innovation, Executive Excellence, Photography and the overall News Brand awards.

The News Media Awards thanks sponsors Media Super, Norske Skog, AAP, DIC, Ipsos, Amazon Web Services (AWS) and Nielsen.

Related downloads