Home » News » News Corp’s Fiona Nilsson named News Media Executive of the Year

News Corp’s Fiona Nilsson named News Media Executive of the Year

Your next read

Fiona Nilsson, Lifestyle Director at News DNA, has been named as News Media Executive of the Year at last night’s 2019 News Media Awards.

This award recognises outstanding achievement of a senior news media executive across any function.

Nilsson has worked for News Corp since 2004, holding a number of senior roles across marketing and publishing. As Lifestyle Director, she is responsible for the largest food media business in Australia. Nilsson drives cross platform revenue and audience growth, as well as brand development and value creation.

Under her guidance, News Corp Australia’s food brands have more than doubled their audience to reach 8.8 million consumers.

“Leading a team of 70, Nilsson is a proven leader, an accomplished strategist and a worthy winner of this year’s News Media Executive of the Year,” the judges commented.

The other two finalists were Ainslee O’Brien, General Manager of Commercial Networks at News DNA and Scott Corcoran, Sales Director – National Agencies at Australian Community Media.

The full 2019 News Media Awards winners list can be found here:https://newsmediaworks.com.au/winners-from-the-2019-news-media-awards/

Commenting on the winners, NewsMediaWorks CEO, Peter Miller, said: “I offer my sincerecongratulations to all the winners in this year’s News Media Awards. Once again the calibre of entries and the significant commitment to innovation and editorial excellence demonstrated by our publishers has impressed the judging panel and made selecting winners a challenging process.

“The News Media Awards recognise excellence in the people, the products, the purpose and performance of news media brands today. Excellence that is a key driver of trust in our brands.”

The 2019 News Media Awards gala dinner was held at the conclusion of the annual INFORM 19 News Media Summit.  More than 350 people attended the awards ceremony at the Ivy Ballroom in Sydney, again hosted by The Chaser’s Craig Reucassel and Andrew Hansen.

News media publishers from Australia, New Zealand and the Asia Pacific submitted more than 500 entries for the seven categories in the 2019 awards. The awards recognise excellence in cross platform news publishing, reflected in categories covering Advertising, Marketing, Technical, Product Innovation, Executive Excellence, Photography and the overall News Brand awards.

The News Media Awards thanks sponsors Media Super, Norske Skog, AAP, DIC, Ipsos, Amazon Web Services (AWS) and Nielsen.

Related downloads