Home » News » Walkley Awards 2018: True Crime, investigative reporting and regional coverage take out top honours

Walkley Awards 2018: True Crime, investigative reporting and regional coverage take out top honours

The 63rd Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism were announced in Brisbane, recognising the cream of the crop in Australian journalism. The awards selected the best talent across 30 categories from over 1,300 entries.  

The 2018 Gold Walkley went to investigative journalist Hedley Thomas (The Australian) and composer/producer Slade Gibson for their work on the hit podcast The Teacher’s Pet, which explored the mystery surrounding the disappearance of Sydney’s Lyn Dawson in the 1980s.  

Described by the judges as “a masterclass in investigative journalism”, The Teacher’s Pet was applauded for its high-quality content that saw more than 27 million listeners downloading the podcast worldwide.  

In print media, the top accolade went to the Don Burke investigation from The Sydney Morning Herald, a collaborative effort with the ABC by Kate McClymont, Lorna Knowles, Tracey Spicer and Alison Branley.  

Scoop of the Year went to The Daily Telegraph’s Sharri Markson, Christopher Dore and Kylar Loussikian for “Bundle of Joyce”, one of the most captivating political dramas of the year.  

Senior journalist Sean Dorney received the award for Outstanding Contribution to Journalism. With his four decades on reporting on the Asia-Pacific region, Dorney’s work was recognised for providing Australians with greater insight into some of our closest neighbours, notably Papua New Guinea.  

Outstanding visual storytelling was recognised by the Nikon-Walkley Press Photographer of the Year award, which went to Dean Lewis for his impressive and diverse portfolio across NBCnews.com, The Sydney Morning HeraldThe Guardian, The Australian and Time. 

The House, Helen Pitt’s investigation of the at times controversial history of the Sydney Opera House, claimed the Walkley Book Award, while the top honours for documentaries went to Myanmar’s Killing Fields on SBS Dateline, a prize shared between collaborators Evan Williams, Eve Lucas and Georgina Davies. 


NewsMediaWorks would like to congratulate all the winners for 2018, and recognises the incredible work of those in the media who tell the stories shaping our world.  

See the full list of the award winners here.  

Related downloads
Filed Under: Uncategorized