Home » News » Winners Announced for 2017 Newspaper of the Year Awards

Winners Announced for 2017 Newspaper of the Year Awards

Winners for the 2017 Newspaper of the Year Awards, that recognise excellence in news media publishing in print and online, photography, environmental initiatives and production, were announced at a Gala Dinner tonight in Sydney.

More than 300 people attended the awards ceremony, which was hosted by The Chaser’s Craig Reucassel and Andrew Hansen at the conclusion of the INFORM News Media Summit at the International Convention Centre in Sydney.

The 2017 awards, known as the PANPAs, attracted a higher number of entries than previous years, coming from publishers across Australia, New Zealand, the South Pacific and Asia.

The full 2017 Newspaper of the Year awards winners list can be found here:

“I would like to congratulate all this year’s Newspaper of the Year award winners and acknowledge the incredibly high standard of the region’s print and digital news content, as well as photography, design and technical excellence. Our news media brands can stand tall as among the best in the world and this year’s award winners again showed outstanding excellence in each category. The PANPAs are the region’s pre-eminent awards in the news media industry and this year was no exception,” NewsMediaWorks CEO, Peter Miller, said.

The awards, sponsored by Norske Skog, were open to national, metropolitan, regional, rural and community news media brands in Australia, New Zealand, the Pacific Islands and Asia. The awards place an emphasis on the quality of journalism, cross platform execution, design and the ability to engage audiences across multiple platforms.

The six categories for this year’s Newspaper of the Year awards were:

  • Newspaper of the Year – sponsored by Norske Skog
  • Digital Destinations of the Year
  • Photography of the Year – sponsored by Media Super
  • Technical Excellence – sponsored by DIC
  • Hegarty Scholarship (for young news media executives) – sponsored by Media Super
  • Environment

Judges for the 2017 Awards were:

Andrew McKean, Miguel D’Souza, Earl Wilkinson, Tony Gilles, Peter Miller, Tim Burrowes, Foad Fadahgi, Samantha Amjadali, Tim Bauer, Camila Carmody, Christopher Getts, Alan Howe, Grant Booker, Rick Slowgrove, Paul Burston, Mal Dale, Peter Netchaef, Jon Reid, Peter Clark, David Roles, Steve Packham, Eva Rinaldi, Ian Moore, Damien Munday, Christopher Pash, John Hancock, Mark Dadswell, Gavin Ellis, Andy Moger, Ed Efchak, Karyn Krawford, David Hovenden, Nisin Sunito, Mark Hollands, Simon Wake, Charlie Murdoch, Herbert Kieleithner, Michael Van Wyk, Brian Hill, Udesh Gunatunga, Greg Graham, Kellie Northwood, Frank Masterson, Mary Ann Azer, Cheryl Stanion, Peter Cornelius, Phillip Campbell, Roger Coombs,  Michael Rose, Mark Sharman, Steve Davis, Jane Schulze.

Related downloads
Filed Under: News

Reader Interactions